back to home

Frequently Asked Questions


Who are BHS Qualifications (BHSQ)?

BHS Qualifications (BHSQ) are an awarding body recognised and regulated by:

  • Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator (Ofqual) England
  • SQA Accreditation Scotland
  • Qualifications Wales (QW) Wales
  • Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) Northern Ireland

We work in partnership with a variety of organisations, such as The British Horse Society and the British Equestrian Federation, to develop and award qualifications for the equestrian industry. We also award Scottish Vocational Qualifications, Work Based Diplomas and Equestrian Tourism Qualifications.


How do I contact BHSQ?
You can contact us on any of the details below:

Telephone 02476 840544

BHS Qualifications
Equestrian House, Abbey Park
Kenilworth, Warwickshire


What is an awarding organisation?
As an awarding organisation it is our job to develop qualifications, support our BHSQ Approved Centres delivering our qualifications to learners and to provide quality assurance for those qualifications.


What is an BHSQ Approved Centre?
BHSQ Approved Centres are further education colleges, universities, private training providers and governing bodies that wish to educate their students or workforce in subject areas within the equestrian industry.

To deliver a qualification, your organisation must first apply to become an BHSQ Approved Centre. You can then make applications for each qualification.


How much does a qualification cost?
For the most current fees, please contact your centre.


How is BHS Qualifications funded?
We are a subsidiary wholly-owned company of The British Horse Society (BHS), a UK-registered charity whose mission includes the promotion and advancement of education, training and safety of the public in all matters relating to the horse.

All proceeds go directly back to the BHS to help them develop and advance education, training and safety of the public in all matters relating to the horse.


Who are Ofqual?
The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) regulates qualifications, examinations and assessments in England. They maintain the standards and confidence in qualifications in England, including GCSEs, AS and A Levels and vocational qualifications. They are independent of the government and report directly to Parliament. 


Who are SQA Accreditation?
SQA Accreditation quality assures qualifications offered in Scotland by approving awarding organisations and accrediting their qualifications. They do this by regulating awarding organisations and their qualifications against published regulatory requirements. They are the regulatory arm of the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA), and sit alongside SQA Awarding Body.  


Who are Qualifications Wales?
Qualifications Wales is the independent organisation responsible for regulating general and vocations qualifications in Wales. 


Who are the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment?
The Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) seeks to ensure that the standards of examinations and assessments conducted by bodies or authorities in Northern Ireland are recognised as equivalent to the standards of examinations and assessments conducted by awarding bodies, exercising similar functions elsewhere in the United Kingdom. CCEA Regulation is the regulator for all qualifications in Northern Ireland.