back to home

Scottish Vocational Qualifications


The Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQ) are qualifications developed by the industry based on national occupational standards. They relate specifically to those working in the equestrian industry to meet the needs of employers and the individual. Assessment takes place either in the workplace or in an approved assessment location on a continuous basis.


Find out more about each level below, including the unit detail and guidance:

SVQ in Horse Care at SCQF Level 4

SVQ in Horse Care at SCQF Level 5

SVQ in Horse Care and Management at SCQF Level 6

The accreditation period for these qualifications expires 30 June 2026.


To enquire about registering for a Scottish Vocational Qualification, please contact one of our BHSQ Approved SVQ Centres.


Want to become a Scottish Vocational Qualification Centre?

Please get in touch and we can discuss your requirements.